The Hundred-year-old man…

*Good news! I finally have my own laptop, so you will be hearing from me regularly.

I have previously mentioned that I am now part of a book club and one of the things we have started doing is to exchange and recommend books with each other (because you know books can be so expensive nowadays…).

I have actually finished reading this book a while ago, but promised myself I will post it as soon as I get a laptop of my own.

The Hundred-year-old Man who climbed out of the window and disappeared – Jonas Jonasson

Yes, that is one long elaborate title. When my friend showed me this book, I asked, “Is it like that Twilight Zone movie where the old man becomes young again?” “Uhm, no, not quite. But there is a lot that happens to him. He goes on an adventure,” my friend said.

And what an adventure!

Back cover description:
You’re never too old for an adventure…

Sitting quietly in his room in an old people’s home, Allan Karlsson is waiting for a party he doesn’t want to begin. HIs one-hundredth birthday party to be precise. The Mayor will be there. The press will be there. But, as it turns out, Allan will not…

Escaping (in his slippers) through his bedroom window, into the flowerbed, Allan makes his getaway. And so begins his picturesque and unlikely journey involving criminals, several murders, a suitcase full of cash, and incompetent police. As his escapades unfold, Allan’s earlier life is revealed. A life in which – remarkably – he played a key role behind the scenes in some of the momentous events of the twentieth century.

First published: 2009 (translated by Rod Bradbury).

Rating: 4/5

“Things are what they are, and whatever will be will be”

*Apparently, the book is now a major motion picture. No, I haven’t seen it yet…

About dada4nonsense

I am a quirky person who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on August 28, 2021, in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Hundred-year-old man….

Comments are closed.