Covid self-isolation book

I got sick on the 28th of June this year and had to stay home for three weeks: 10 of those days I had to stay in my room. That was torture!

To pass away the time, I watched Rick & Morty episodes, read The Hundred-year-old man, finished it and started reading a book of which its title is probably a very appropriate comment while being sick with Covid:

For Whom the Bell Tolls – by Ernest Hemingway

High in the pine forests of the Spanish Sierra, a guerilla band prepares to blow up a vital bridge. Robert Jordan, a young American volunteer, has been sent to handle the dynamiting. There, in the mountains, he finds the dangers and the intense comradeship of war. And there he discovers Maria, a young woman who has escaped from Franco’s rebels.

For Whom the Bell Tolls, a passionate evocation of the pride and tragedy of the Civil War that tore Spain apart.

First published: 1941

Rating: 3/5

I found the narrative tedious and just like waiting for the outcome of my Covid illness, suspenseful. But I survived: both the book and the virus!

About dada4nonsense

I am a quirky person who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on August 31, 2021, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Covid self-isolation book.

Comments are closed.