The Moonchildren Villanelle

The reason why I didn’t do Napowrimo this year, is because I wanted to challenge myself by trying to write a fixed rhyme poem. I chose the villanelle.

A villanelle is a French verse form consisting of 19 lines arranged in five three-line verses and a final four-line verse. Only two rhymes are used. Line 1 is repeated in line 6, 12 and 18 and line 3 is repeated in line 9, 15 and 19 (The Works 8 by John Foster).

Well, it’s not perfect yet, but here it is:

The Moonchildren Villanelle

Once a month, night turns to day
you will witness a curious sight*
the moonchildren come out to play

The moonlight is a sun’s ray
the moonchildren’s torn clothes white*
once a month, night turns to day.

Frolicking barefoot they stray
up to all kinds of mischief on the night
the moonchildren come out to play.

Not a care in the world, they go about their way
the full moon is shining bright
once a month, night turns to day.

How I long to join them. Do you think I may?
my dreams take flight*
the moonchildren come out to play.

Tell the Moon to wait, to stay
one day I might persuade, they might sway.**
Once a month, night turns to day
the moonchildren come out to play.

*These lines still need a little work.

I’m already working on my next poem about how I hated writing a villanelle, hahaha!

**Oops! I only realised the other day that I made a mistake. The rhyming scheme for the last verse should be abaa not 4 a’s! Here is the alternative line:

one day I might persuade, one day they might…

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on April 30, 2017, in Poems and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Moonchildren Villanelle.

Comments are closed.

