Women who run with the wolves – Clarissa Pinkola Estés

Back cover: The writer is a Jungian psychoanalyst and cantadora (keeper of the old stories), of many years standing. She reveals how within every woman there lives a Wild Woman, filled with passionate creativity and ageless knowing – but repressed for centuries by a value system that trivializes emotional truth, intuitive wisdom and instinctual self-confidence. Dr Estés’s extraordinary and enriching bestseller shows how, through her foremost interpretation of story and her psychological commentary, we can reclaim, and rejoice in, our true feminine power – how we can awaken within the depths of our souls one who is both magic and medicine.

Someone recommended this book to me, because of one of the stories that features in the book: The Skeleton Woman. She also told me to watch this adaptation of the story.

The first time I saw it, it was very spooky and unnerving. It’s almost as if something deep inside my soul was stirring and awakening. I dare you to watch it!

Some of the other stories that Estés touches on also feels somewhat familiar. Bluebeard is very similar to the fairy tale “Beauty and the Beast”. Not the Disney version though.

Also The Red Shoes also seems very familiar almost as if I’ve heard or seen the story before. Or maybe it is because when I was a little girl I had a pair of red boots once. I loved those boots. In The Red Shoes the herione becomes obsessed with a pair of red shoes, mostly because it is taken away from her.

Estés uses the wolf as a methaphor because according to her “healthy wolves and healthy women share certain psychic characteristics: playful spirit, devotion, strength but also hunted and harassed.”

The only thing that bothered me about these types of books is that with the last 100 pages you start resenting it. There is just too much information to work through. It took me a month to finish this book.

Apparently this book is meant for a study group or a book club, something you can read and reread over a long period of time.

First published: 1992

Rating: 5/5

 

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on April 17, 2017, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Women who run with the wolves – Clarissa Pinkola Estés.

Comments are closed.

