Why do we celebrate birthdays?

I have a confession to make: I could never understood why we make such a big fuss when it is someone’s birthday.

It’s only fun when you’re a kid growing up. Once you reach adulthood it’s somewhat overrated.

I wonder if Jesus ever celebrated his birthday? Maybe there is a reason why we don’t know Jesus’s exact birthday?

Happy Birthday

I also could never say “Happy Birthday” and mean it at the same time. But what does it actually mean?

Are we actually just saying: Well done! You’re one year older. Big whoop.

Who wants to live forever? I don’t. Who wants to grow older? I don’t. Celebrating birthdays is against everything the world and society stands for. Just look at all the anti-ageing products on the shelf.

Or maybe we’re saying: Congratulations, I am happy to have you in my life.

But I only see or hear from some of my friends on their birthdays. So… basically they are not really in my life… so what is the point?

There are people who believe that when you tell someone “Happy Birthday” your good wishes will keep them from harm. Which is actually bullshit, a superstition – nobody is that powerful.

 

What is the history of birthday celebrations?

Well, apparently the Egyptians and Greeks were the first people to celebrate birthdays – but only the days of the gods.

Romans were the first to celebrate their birthdays – well actually just the men. Women only joined the party in the 12th century.

It was originally considered a pagan ritual – until Christians decided to celebrate the birth of Jesus.

But a lot of people see birthdays as the celebration of the self or self-worship.

Conclusion

If it is done for the right reasons and when you are really in my life, I will celebrate my or your birthday with you. Otherwise, I’m not interested.

 

 

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on March 4, 2017, in Notes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Why do we celebrate birthdays?.

Comments are closed.

