The Butcher’s Theatre – Jonathan Kellerman

butcherstheatre

When I finished reading “Time Bomb” while I was on holiday, I turned to the front pages to see what other books Kellerman has written that I might want to read. This one stood out immediately. Maybe it is because I work at a theatre. I was intrigued. Funny, if I think back now I just assumed it would take place in a theatre hall or auditorium not a hospital theatre. Turns out it is neither. This is not a spoiler, because it is mentioned on the back cover of the book:

“Murder is never clear-cut. In the ’60s Jerusalem was dubbed ‘The Butcher’s Theatre’. Decades later and the City of Peace is about to regain that title. The corpse of a young Arab girl has been found – her body violated and then carved up with chilling precision. Sexual murders are virtually unheard of in Jerusalem and the killing throws an already unstable city into turmoil.

Chief inspector Daniel Shalom Sharavi, himself a Yeminite Jew, takes charge of the case. But with political and religious tensions in the city muddying the murder trail, could he be about to lose the killer in the confusion?”

First published: 1988

What I thought of the book: Very well-written and thoroughly researched. It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book with 500+ pages. Seems a little long, but if you have the time you should read it.

Rating: 4/5

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on July 17, 2016, in Book Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Butcher’s Theatre – Jonathan Kellerman.

Comments are closed.

