Inspirational people: Malala

Malala

Over the past year I’ve started reading more non-fictional books especially about people that inspire me. I’ve recently finished Malala Yousafzai’s autobiography. If you don’t know who that is, you’ve been living under a rock for the past few years and I almost beat my colleague when she told me she never heard of Malala!

“I am Malala” tells the true story of one girl that stood up against the Taliban in Pakistan. All she wants is for girls to get an education, something strictly forbidden by the Taliban. But surprisingly not the Koran!

Malala is an inspiration to me because she stood up for what she believes in and became the youngest winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014.

So who is Malala in a nutshell? She was the girl who stood up for education and was shot by the Taliban.

Back Cover:
“Who is Malala?” the gunman demanded.

I am Malala. This is my story.

When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley, one girl fought for her right to an education. On Tuesday 9 October 2012, she almost paid the ultimate price when she was shot in the head at point-blank range.

Malala Yousafzai’s extraordinary journey has taken her from a remote valley in northern Pakistan to the halls of the United Nations. At seventeen she has become a global symbol of peaceful protest and is the youngest ever winner of the Nobel Peace Prize.

“I am Malala” will make you believe in the power of one person’s voice to inspire change in the world.

First published: 2013

Thoughts on the book: The only way Malala could have done any of this is because of her father. He gave her the freedom the do what she believes in and let her voice be heard. She wasn’t afraid when they started to get death threats. It makes you think: What will you be willing to die for? What is the one thing to you that is more important than your own life?

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on January 31, 2016, in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Inspirational people: Malala.

Comments are closed.

