The BFG

bfg

I remember way back in primary school we had an English teacher that read to us every Friday if we behaved. That must sound really dull to you, but for me it was the equivalent of someone rubbing my back. Always relaxing. I remember she read to us: The BFG, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and some other story that I can’t remember the title of except it was about a child living in a cold, dark cave.

Anyway, recently, I’ve become very nostalgic about books and wanted to relive my youth: and what better way than through Roald Dahl’s “The BFG”?

Back Cover:

“Me gobbling up human beans! This I never! I is the only nice… Giant in Giant Country. I is the Big Friendly Giant!”

Luckily for Sophie, who has been snatched from her bed by him, the BFG is far more jumbly than his disgusting neighbours. They guzzle and swallomp nice little chiddlers. So Sophie and the BFG cook up an ingenious plan to rid the world of trogglehumping giants for ever!

What I like about this book:

Roald Dahl is a very good storyteller and he knows how to use (or in this case create) the words to his advantage. I haven’t written anything about anything nonsensical in a long while: Roald Dahl is a perfect example of using Nonsense words. Here are just some of my favourite: scrumdiddlyumptious, snozzcumbers, frobscottle and whizzpoppers, crockadowndillies.

You can also find a lot of life truths in the book, such as:
“Giants is not very lovely, but they is not killing each other. Nor is crockadowndillies killing other crockadowndillies… Human beans is the only animals that is killing their own kind.”

First published: 1982

Rating: 5/5

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on September 16, 2015, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The BFG.

Comments are closed.

