The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

book thief

This book came highly recommended to me by my aunt, which isn’t a total bad thing seeing that she also introduced me to “The Girl…” trilogy by Stieg Larsson.

I found this book in a second-hand shop.

Back cover:

Here is a small fact:

You are going to die.

1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier.

Liesel, a nine-year-old girl, is living with a foster family on Himmel Street. Her parents have been taken away to a concentration camp. Liesel steals books. This her story and the story of the inhabitants of her street when the bombs begin to fall.

Some important information:

This novel is narrated by Death.

It’s a small story, about:

a girl

+

an accordionist

+

some fanatical Germans

+

a Jewish fist fighter

+

and quite a lot of thievery.

Another thing you should know:

Death will visit the Book Thief three times.

Rating:

5/5 I had absolutely no idea what this book would be about except someone that steals books. But it is all about the ¬†circumstances and time period. I absolutely love the writing style that the book was written in. I also love the idea of the character “Death” that introduces us to the main character.

Of course anything on the topic of Nazi Germany and the Holocaust gets my vote.

Published: 2007

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on June 14, 2015, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

Comments are closed.

