Napowrimo Day 23

I almost did not write anything this day, until 5 minutes to midnight I wrote this:

The Grandpa clock chimes
another hour’s passed
The Ghosts of the past
comes to haunt me.
How they lived –
Oh! It must have been splendid
to have such interesting lives!
Only…
Maybe they saw their lives
as ordinary
Maybe a century
from now
people will look back
and think the same of us?

Our grandpa clock was made by my grandfather and first belonged to him. My father recently inherited it, but I still think of it as my grandfather’s. “Grandfather” sounds so formal. We have a better word in Afrikaans: My Oupa se klok

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on April 25, 2015, in Napowrimo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Napowrimo Day 23.

Comments are closed.

