Napowrimo 2015 Day 2

Oh bilge!

I wish I was a horse!

Yah-ta-ta ya-ta-ta ya-ta-ta

Talk talk talk

but nobody’s listening.

The story behind this poem (really? You call this a poem?!) is the first two lines are quotes from one of my favourite movies and fictional characters. In the 1949 version of “Little Women” Jo March love saying “Oh bilge!” (which is one of my favourite sayings also because bilge is a more fancier version of the word “nonsense”) and she says “I wish I was a horse” when her sister Meg is upset with her for not acting grown up.

The “Yah-ta-ta…” is from a song by Bing Crosby and Judy Garland. I absolutely love the musicals with the big stars from the previous century. Ever since I discovered the channel TCM, I can’t get enough of it. Anyway, the name of the song is “Yah-ta-ta Yah-ta-ta Yah-ta-ta (Talk Talk Talk): I used it as a play on the sound that horses make when they gallop around and one thing I’ve realized a while back about our society nowadays is that everybody’s constantly talking but it seems like nobody’s listening.

This has nothing to do with the poem but I love it when Judy Garland sings “I lost my head with this question” in the song.

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on April 2, 2015, in Napowrimo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Napowrimo 2015 Day 2.

Comments are closed.

