My Favourite Book of All Time (2)

Whenever I get the question, what is your favourite book of all time and they actually give me a time to ponder over it, this book will also come to mind:

CHEAPER BY THE DOZEN

If you’re thinking “Oh yes! I saw the movie with Steve Martin and Hilary Duff” then I want to kill you. Literally. That’s what I wanted to do with Steve Martin. He took this beautiful story and made it into a complete farce! So no, the films and the book have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING in common. The films are cheap rip-offs of the book! Here’s what it’s really about:

The book is based on a real family and was written by two family members: the oldest boy, Frank. B Gilbreth, and Ernestine Gilbreth. It tells of their family: their parents – both scientists in time and motion study and efficiency, Frank and Lillian, and twelve noisy, healthy, hungry, red-headed children. The children’s upbringing may have seemed odd at the time but it all makes uproarious reading now for the outsiders.

cheaperbythedozen1

I liked everything about this book, but especially:

The Dedication: “To Dad, who only reared twelve children And To Mother who reared twelve only children.

Foreword: Mother and dad, Lillian Moller Gilbreth and Frank Bunker Gilbreth, were industrial engineers. They were among the first in the scientific management field and the very first in motion study. From 1910 to 1924, their firm of Gilbreth Inc. , was employed as “efficiency expert” by many of the major industrial plants in the United States, Britian, and Germany…. It goes on, but I won’t include it otherwise I will spoilt it for you.

Excerpt from the book:

“Someone once asked Dad: “But what do you want to save time for? What are you going to do with it?”

“For work, if you love that best,” said Dad. “For education, for beauty, for art, for pleasure.” He looked over the top of his pince-nez. For mumblety-peg, if that’s what where your heart lies.”

First published: 1949

Trust me, you won’t waste any of your precious time reading this book.

Rating: 5/5

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on February 10, 2015, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on My Favourite Book of All Time (2).

Comments are closed.

