My Favourite book of All Time

I have read lots of brilliant books in my lifetime so far, but whenever someone asks me what my favourite book all time is, usually the first thing that pops into my head is:

TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD

mockingbird 1

That’s usually my go-to answer. I always go back to this one. Here’s the scenario:

My first time reading this book was in my Grade 11 English class and this book was our prescribed book. My English teacher that year was Mrs R. Potgieter –  a very short, very feisty, funny woman with crooked fingers. Unlike the other classes which got turns to read out a part of the book, she read it out loud to the whole class. And we were hooked from the start! Well, at least I was.

And now for the good news! f you were living under a rock this past week you might have missed this: A possible sequel to this brilliant story. Harper Lee did actually write a sequel to “To Kill a Mockingbird”, but never wanted to publish it until some people came to the rescue and actually got her to change her mind.

Review

Do you ever get that dreadful feeling that when you finish a book you don’t want it to be the end. You just want it to go on and on and on? This was one of the books for me.

But now I’m thinking: there are so much expectations riding on this. I think I can understand why Harper Lee never really pressed continue on the story.

Even though I haven’t read this book in quite some time (some people actually read their favourite books every year – how do they do that?!) I remember the first time I “read” this book I kept picturing Scout, Jem and Atticus as black people. They never felt white to me (if you know what I mean).

Also who is the real mockingbird in the story? Or is there more than one? I could never really figure that out.

First published: 1960

Rating: 5/5 10/10 100% Seriously, if you haven’t read this book yet, you’re dead to me

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on February 9, 2015, in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on My Favourite book of All Time.

Comments are closed.

