John Cleese’s Autobiography “So, Anyway…”

Book cover

Book cover

I know, how presumptuous of me to review a book about someone’s life. How dare I?

One thing I want to mention: why is it that only famous people can write and publish autobiographies? Everyone has a story to tell.

In our family we have a new tradition to get my grandparents to write their life stories, because let’s face it the world was so much more interesting than now. I spend my vacation jotting down details about my only remaining grandfather’s life.

But back to the review:

What I liked: 

And that’s why I enjoyed reading about John Cleese telling of his mother – living through almost everything and not remembering or noticing any of it.

Fav quotes:

p297: “And I learned that when you stop concentrating on avoiding mistakes, you relax a bit, and consequently… you actually make fewer.”

p300: “I never forget that the French word for rehearsal is repetition.”

p402: “I regarded swearing as a form of cheating, a lazy way of getting a laugh out of material that wasn’t intrinsically funny enough.”

What I didn’t like: 

I do wish there were more about “Monty Python’s Flying Circus” and there was almost nothing about “Fawlty Towers”. Those are my dearest memories of John Cleese – watching those two shows. Then again, I should probably buy a book with that as the topic.

Title: “So, Anyway..” Fitting, because the book is written in the form of having a conversation with someone (in this case the reader) and he keeps interrupting himself. Which kind of reminds me of someone… me!

I cannot tell someone how to write their life story. But we all have a life story to tell. And I think that is important.

Rating: 3½ out of 5

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on January 17, 2015, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love reading autobiographies. It has been a while since I have read one; I think I am overdue to pick one up at the library.

