Mary Shelley’s “Frankenstein or, The Modern Prometheus”

First of all, why is it when we hear or see the name “Frankenstein” we think of the monster the Doctor creates in the book? Is it because many a book cover shows this hideous creature?

frankenstein

But the creature doesn’t have a name – he is simply referred in the book as “daemon” or “monster”. He is not Frankenstein. Why didn’t she call her book “Dr. Frankenstein”? Then there would have been no misunderstandings…

When I finally finished reading this book I came to the conclusion that I did not get what I expected. I expected that she would describe exactly how Dr. Frankenstein created the creature, but she does none of that. Also, “Frankenstein” is a horror novel, but it has almost none of the frightening qualities Bram Stoker’s “Dracula” had.

Also, from the very beginning you know that both Dr. Frankenstein and the creature is doomed. You know they will come to an end – it’s just a matter of fact which one will die first. I also didn’t have any pity for either of them. To me Dr. Frankenstein is the true “monster”/”murderer” of the novel. Maybe that’s what Mary Shelley was trying to suggest through her ambiguous title?

The prologue was a little confusing and dragged out. The novel starts with the correspondence between a brother, Walton,  and his sister, Margaret. I kept thinking just get to the point already! What does this have to do with the whole story?  It’s only when he finally meets Dr. Frankenstein when things fall into place.

The last few chapters the plot was absolutely riveting – my eyes were literally glued to the pages! I kept thinking the pages are running out and there is so much that can and should still happen.

A definitive must-read!

3/5

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on December 31, 2014, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice review! Hope you check out my debut novel, THE WAITING ROOM:) I’d love to hear your thoughts.

