“Under the Dome” – by Stephen King

I finished reading “Under the Dome” yesterday. I was especially interested to see how the story finishes after watching the TV series two seasons.

Alternative book cover. I like this one better.

Alternative book cover. I like this one better.

tv image

Cover of the book I've read.

Cover of the book I’ve read.

Much to my surprise the book is nothing like the TV-series. Yes, there is a Dome and most of the characters are there, but they have differenct backgrounds. One main character dies on the first day (in the first few pages) of the book. Big Jim and Barbie already know (and hate) each other. Linda Everett is married to Rusty and they have two daughters.

After finishing the book I must confess that I prefer the TV-series over the book. Usually it’s the other way around. You always hear someone moaning that the movie was nothing like the book, blah blah blah… Well, maybe it depends on what  comes first for you. Most of the time it’s the book, then the movie or TV-series. For me it was the latter. Plus it’s nice to put a face to each character of the book with such a big cast of characters.

Here’s what I did like about the book *WARNING: POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT*

There is no egg. I know a lot of people were let down when it featured in the series. I myself went: “Really? An egg? WTF!”

Also what happens in the book seems more real and plausible.

Another thing that I liked, is how Stephen King expresses himself. A book is as good as the writer is. Examples:

p. 236 “In the middle of the night thoughts became zombies.” Wow! That’s so powerful!

p. 502 “Close your eyes and click your heels three times”, Julia thought. “Because there’s no place like Dome”.

p 601 “far to the west, the black smudge where the missiles had struck. It hung there, a beauty mark on the cheek of the day”

p 607 “If the black spot left by the missile strikes was a beauty mark on the cheek of the day, then this new mark was a skin tumor.”

p 647 “Not quite. I also have to fix my fuck-you finger. I may need it.”

Here’s what I didn’t like about the book:

Plot. The plot in the first few episodes of the first season of “Under the Dome” were just so much more thrilling.

The Ending. It felt like it was dragged out.The book should’ve ended (p)ages ago. Arrrghh!

It’ll be interesting to see how they are going to end the series.

Here’s what the man himself had to say about the differences:

“If you loved the book when you first read it, it’s still there for your perusal. But that doesn’t mean the TV series is bad, because it’s not. In fact, it’s very good… Many of the changes wrought by Brian K. Vaughan and his team of writers have been of necessity, and I approved of them wholeheartedly.

There’s only one element of my novel that absolutely had to be the same in the novel and the show, and that’s the Dome itself… As for me, I’m enjoying the chance to watch that alternate reality play out; I still think there’s no place like Dome.”

Source: “A letter from Stephen” http://stephenking.com/promo/utd_on_tv/letter.html June 27th, 2013

Rating: 3/5

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on December 10, 2014, in Book Reviews, Notes. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hello, I see you have used the text from one of my poems in an earlier post. It is always nice to ask permission of the poet before using.

