21 April 2014 Back to Napowrimo

I know today is the 22nd, but I wrote this yesterday.

 

I cry…

crying banshee

I cry because I’m alone

I cry because my life is stuck in a rut

and there’s no way to get out.

 

Choices is what made us.

“The good things that I want to do, I don’t do,

but the awful things that I don’t want to do, that I do.” *

 

I cry because I cannot go back

and I cannot move forward

because I keep looking back.

 

I cry because I don’t belong here

I cry because I have nothing,

no one to share it with.

 

I cry because time waits for no man.

I cry because I only know what I’ve lost,

when it’s truly gone.

 

I cry for the missed opportunities,

missed lessons.

I cry because of my stubbornness.

 

I cry because I can’t look myself in the mirror.

I cry because I can’t stop hurting myself.

I cry because I can’t tell anyone without

being labelled crazy.

 

I cry because I’m a beautiful mess.

I cry because no one will ever get to see that.

 

I cry because you laugh at me.

I cry because no one understands me.

I cry because I’m trying too hard to impress you.

 

I cry for the pain

and sweet bliss

of this world.

 

But most of all: I cry because

this is the only world I know.

 

*the quote is a rough translation from the Afrikaans Romans 8:19

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on April 22, 2014, in Napowrimo, Poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on 21 April 2014 Back to Napowrimo.

Comments are closed.

