7 April 2014 “1984 = 2014”

1984 = 2014

 

The Russians

came rushing in

landgrab

black sea beaches

backwater dependent

monitoring

shopping habits.

 

I’m not insinuating that the Russians per se are at fault or that they really did something in 1984. What I mean with 1984 is that I’m referring to George Orwell’s novel “1984” and I only mention Russians because the article I got the words from was about the Russians wanting to take over Crimea in the Ukraine.

The 2014 means that it is still happening today “monitoring shopping habits” is becoming really real with Facebook ads and new phone GPS apps like iBeacon that for example will remind you of an item on your shopping list whenever you are in the right aisle (which is pretty ingenious and scary at the same time!).

There. I hope I haven’t offended anyone. And if I did – sorry.

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on April 7, 2014, in Napowrimo, Quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on 7 April 2014 “1984 = 2014”.

Comments are closed.

