More Nonsense poems!

Here are some more nonsense poems I’ve written in my third year at university.

My online digital internship is coming to an end and I’m planning to start some research in the Dadaist movement and Dada poetry. I’ll also see if I can find some famous nonsense poems in Afrikaans. All I can think of right now is the one that ends with: “WOK Nak Wyf” or something like that. We did it in high school or in our first year at university.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy these nonsense poems as much as I enjoyed writing them!

Rhyming is for the birds

fixed structures are for mental cases.

Seems so ironic, though

I’m still trying to rhyme on basis.

 

Dear, a strange deer

keeps whispering into my ear.

Is it something I fear?

Put my brain into another gear

Listen! What’s that I hear?

Sounds like King Lear

He’s coming near.

He is not my peer.

Maybe he is queer.

He touched my rear.

Now I need to steer

Away from my tears

This poem is just weir-d.

 

And Vice versa:

 

Dear

Ear to the hollow wall

Fear is an understatement

Gear is the next level.

Hear me when I’m talking to you!

Leer at me, that’s right!

Near-by is a storm

Peer through the window

Queer is not weird.

Rear is my backside.

Steer me away from here.

Tear me to pieces.

Weird things happen at night.

 

This poem can have some elements of the protest poem if I’m not mistaken.

 

Some nonsense haikus:

Creativity

is rebellion – true!

Rhyming is a bitch!

 

Why rhyme? It’s nothing

but slime-ball grandma’s nagging.

Kills creative mind!

 

And last but not least:

What is everyone doing this weekend?

Some are celebrating

Some are mourning

I’m lying here

trying not to bore you.

 

 

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on September 12, 2013, in Poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on More Nonsense poems!.

Comments are closed.

