Totally Insaney Nonsense Cartoons

Animaniacs water tower

Animaniacs water tower

I absolutely love Animaniacs! Everything about it is SO nonsensical!

Theme song:

It’s time for Animaniacs

And were’ zany to the max

so just sit back and relax

you’ll laugh ’till you collapse

we’re Animaniacs!

 

Come join the Warner brothers

and the Warner sister, Dot

just for fun we run around the Warner movie lot

they lock us in the tower

whenever we get caught

but we break loose and then vamoose

and now you know the plot.

 

We’re Animaniacs!

Dot is cute and Yakko yaks

Wakko packs away the snacks

while Bill Clinton plays the sax

We’re Animaniacs!

 

Meet Pinky and the Brain who wants to rule the universe

Goodfeathers flock together, Slappy whacks them with her purse

Buttons chases Mindy while Rita sings a verse

The writers flipped, we have no scripts, why bother to rehearse?

 

We’re Animaniacs!

We have pay or play contracts

We’re zany to the max

There’s baloney in our pants

There's baloney in our pants

There’s baloney in our pants

We’re Animany

Totally Insaney

Here’s the show’s name-y (changes from time to time. My fav is: The Rain in Spain-y; Pinky and the Brain-y)

Animaniacs

those are the facts!

Animaniacs logo

Animaniacs logo

1st episode aired on 13 September 1993.

Nighty night toon

From the 1st episode: Parody on “Goodnight Moon”.

Voice : Nighty-Night Toon
Inside the water tower room
There was a log flume
And a picture of a big baboon.
And three little toons
Acting like goons.
Yakko : I’m Yakko.
Wakko : I’m Wakko.
Dot : And I’m cute!

Voice : A dog and a cat
Runt : Cat? Where’s a cat?
Voice : And a big-headed rat
Brain : I’m a mouse, not a rat
Voice : And two hippos who are incredibly fat.
Marita: Flavio, are we actually fat?
Flavio: No, my delectible. We are simply bigger than life itself. Mwah!

Voice : And in this room
And in this verse
Are Dr Scratch-and-sniff
And…
Y+W : …Hello, Nurse!

Voice : And three Goodfeathers
Who…
Squit : …stick together!
Pesto : What do you mean by that?
You think I’m sticky?
You saying I’m some kind of gooey sticky bun here for your breakfast
enjoyment?
Is that what you’re saying?
Squit : No, I’m just saying–
Pesto : That’s it!!!
[pow, crack] Here’s your sticky bun! I got your sticky bun right here!
Squit : Ow! Come on! Knock it off!

Voice : And Mindy and Buttons
Are snuggled in bed
Along with a fellow
Named Mr Skullhead.
And an old squirrel lady
In cap and nightgown
Sits in her rocker and says
Slappy: Hey, pal, pipe down!
Voice : Oh, er, right. Well then…

Nighty-night, room
Nighty-night, toons
Nighty-night, log flume
With the big baboon.
Nighty-night, dog
Nighty-night, cat
Runt : I do smell a cat, but where’s it at?
That rhymes. That definitely rhymes.

Voice : Nighty-night, hippos
Marita: We’re big-boned, not fat.

Voice : Nighty-night, big-headed laboratory rat.
Brain : I am not a rat. I’m a mouse! [BLAM!]
Oh, drat.
Pinky : Oh, that rhymes too, Brain. Oof.

Voice : Nighty-night, Doctor
And…
Y+W : …goodnight, Nurse!

Voice : Nighty-night, pigeons
Who constantly curse.
Pesto : [pow, thud] Pasta da (?)! Fettucini al fredo!
Squit : Come on! What’d I do? What’d I do? Knock it off! Come on, hey, come on!
Pesto : I got your sticky bun! Here’s your sticky bun!

Voice : Nighty-night, Buttons
Under the bed
Along with his friend
Mr Skullhead.
Nighty-night, squirrel lady
In nightgown and cap

Slappy: For crying out loud
Will you button your yap?

Voice : Nighty-night, water tower
Nighty-night, lot
Nighty-night, Yakko
Wakko and Dot.
Nighty-night, people everywhere

Yakko : And nighty-night, Wakko’s underwear!

The Monkey Song

The Monkey song

The Monkey song

Dr Scratchansniff : One Monday morning I got up late
And there were these monkeys outside the gate.
The guard tried to stop them but he had no luck
The monkeys got free and they ran amuck!

DrSns : I don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
Yakko, Wakko & Dot : Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
DrSns : I don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
YW+D : Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!

DrSns : My office was run by the studio nurse.
I came downstairs und what could be worse?
The monkeys was doing a crazy dance.
They put buggies in my underpants!

DrSns : I don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
YW+D : Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
DrSns : Monkeys dance then I dance too!
YW+D : Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!

DrSns : I ran outside to get a stick
But I’m telling you, friends, those monkeys was quick!
‘Cause when I returned, much to my disgrace
Those monkeys had the nurse in a mad embrace!

Nurse : I don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do.
Yakko : For a nickel I’ll give you a clue!
Dot : I didn’t know your eyes were blue!
DrSns : I don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!

Marita: Yessah, whoo!
Flavio: Ah, play that thing!

DrSns : I went to me bath for a shower and shave.
The monkeys goin’ to put me into my grave!
The entire bathroom was laid to waste
And they shaved my head with minty toothpaste!

DrSns : I don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
YW+D : Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
DrSns : They is crazy-nutzo, I’m telling you!
YW+D : Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!

DrSns : Then by this time I was feeling dread
They was using a shoe brush to shine me head.
I asked them to leave but they stayed around.
They pulled the chain and yee! I went down!

DrSns : I don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
YW+D : Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
DrSns : Call my lawyer; I’m ready to sue!
YW+D : Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
DrSns : Aaaaaaaaaa!

DrSns : Well me patience ran out and I’m telling you sure
Tomorrow I show those monkeys the door!
And if they don’t leave I’m inviting you
To my house for dumplings and monkey stew!

DrSns : I don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
YW+D : Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
DrSns : Now I’m in the stew. — Oh, poo.
YW+D : Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!

DrSns : Watch out for monkeys, I’m telling you!
YWDF+M: Don’t know what to say the monkeys won’t do!
YW+D : We’re not monkeys; we’re just cuckoo!
YWDF+M: Don’t know what to say the Warners won’t do!

 

History

Producers Steven Spielberg and Tom Ruegger created the series after a previous series, Tiny Toon Adventures, was a huge success. Ruegger wanted to base the characters on the personalities of his three young sons (his eldest son was the inspiration behind Yakko). Ruegger was inspired by the large WB logo on the water tower at Warner Brother Studios.

Spielberg and Animaniacs

Spielberg and Animaniacs

Watner Brothers logo on the water tower

Watner Brothers logo on the water tower

At first there were 4 Warner sibilings: Yakky, Smakky, Wakky and their little sister, Dot. They later morphed into Yakko, Wakko and Dot. They were also 3 young ducks, but changed to dog-like characters when they realised that there were already too many duck cartoons. Their exact species is supposed to be unknown, but it was found that their species was labelled as “Cartoonus Characterus”.

It is said that the Animaniacs characters personalities and character traits are similar to the Marx Brothers and Jerry Lewis who “wreak[ed] havoc” in “serious situations.” The Warners are portrayed as cartoon stars from the early 1930s. Simple black and white drawings were very common such as Felix the cat and early versions of Mickey Mouse and Minnie Mouse.

Yakko, Wakko and Dot

Dot’s full name is: Princess Angelina Contessa Louisa Francesca Banana Fanna Bo Besca the Third.

I love how the series can be enjoyed on two levels: kids love it because of the slapstick and older audiences can enjoy and appreciate the word play and adult humor. Example of word play: when Yakko, Wakko and Dot wants to buy another character’s Garage because they think “Garage Sale” refers to that.

I love the parodies and spoof references in the series. “The Rain in Spain-y” refers to “My Fairlady”, Goodfeathers is a play on “Goodfellows”. Animaniacs parodies popular TV shows, movies and caricatured celebrities.

Because of Steven Spielberg’s involvement in the series, a running gag was that his films were mentioned in the series and even a caricature of Spielberg himself appeared a few times. In the episode “Hooked on a ceiling” Spielberg was made eminence of the Sistine Chapel and Warners painted E.T. on its ceiling (in place of God) reaching out to Elliot (in place of Adam).

Other characters:

Dr. Scratchansniff: Unfortunately, I couldn’t find out why he has such a peculiar name. Maybe it’s because he is a psychiatrist whose job it is to “scratch and sniff” into the character’s lives??? He is the psychiatrist of Hollywood and it his job to teach the Warner siblings some manners. Later on he becomes a father figure to them.

Dr. Scratchansniff

Dr. Scratchansniff

Here follows some of my favourite quotes involving him:

Dr. Scratchensniff: I know what you kids want… you want to talk to Mr. Puppet Head!
[imitating another character]
Dr. Scratchensniff: Hello, kids. I’m Mr. Puppet Head. Tell me why you kids make the jokes?
[the Warners are silent]
Dr. Scratchensniff: Why aren’t you talking to Mr. Puppet Head? No no, it’s very simple watch this… Hello, Mr. Puppet Head. How are you?
[imitating Mr. Puppet Head]
Dr. Scratchensniff: I am fine, Dr. Scratchensniff. How are you?
[normal voice]
Dr. Scratchensniff: I am fine, Mr. Puppet Head. Did you have a yummy breakfast?
[imitating Mr. Puppet Head]
Dr. Scratchensniff: Oh, yes. Very yummy. How was your breakfast?
[normal voice]
Dr. Scratchensniff: Mine was as yummy as yours.
[to the Warners]
Dr. Scratchensniff: Now, you see? Isn’t that easy?
Yakko: Are you sure you don’t need to see a P-psychiatrist?
Dr. Scratchensniff: I AM a P-psych… I mean a psychiatrist! I AM! I AM! I AM!
[uses the hand his puppet is on to tear off his hair]
Yakko: Mr. Puppet Head’s hungry.

Dr. Scratchensniff: [showing Dot an inkblot] What do you see here?
Dot: I’d say you’re not a very good artist.
Dr. Scratchensniff: I didn’t draw it.
Dot: Then whoever did needs to go back to school.
Dr. Scratchensniff: No, no. It’s an inkblot.
Dot: I’ll say.
Dr. Scratchensniff: It’s not supposed to look like anything!
Dot: Then you did a very good job.
Dr. Scratchensniff: I DIDN’T DRAW IT! Don’t you think it looks like a little kitty cat or a butterfly or something?
Dot: No.
[takes off the inkblot and changes it into a butterfly]
Dot: THAT’S a butterfly.

Dr. Scratchensniff: What is on your mind?
Wakko: My hat.
Dr. Scratchensniff: No, your hat is on your head. What is on your MIND?
Wakko: My… skin?
Dr. Scratchensniff: No, that’s on your head. What is on your MIND?
Wakko: Oh, I got it! My hair!
Dr. Scratchensniff: Your hair is on your head!
[tears off some of his hair]
Dr. Scratchensniff: THIS IS HAIR! THIS IS HAIR! IT’S NOT ON MY MIND! IT’S ON MY HEAD!
Wakko: No, it’s in your hand.

Dr. Scratchensniff: Any word that comes to mind.
Yakko: Brain.
Dr. Scratchensniff: But we haven’t started.
Yakko: Begun.
Dr. Scratchensniff: No, wait.
Yakko: Yield.
Dr. Scratchensniff: Stop!
Yakko: Cease.
Dr. Scratchensniff: SILENCE!
Yakko: Quiet.
Dr. Scratchensniff: ENOUGH!
Yakko: Plenty.
Dr. Scratchensniff: Would you please listen?
Yakko: Hear.
Dr. Scratchensniff: NO, YOU STUPID KID! YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND!
Yakko: Comprehend.
Dr. Scratchensniff: Get out! Get out! Get OUT!
Yakko: Leave, leave, leave.
Dr. Scratchensniff: These Varner Brothers are driving me crazy!
Yakko: Insane. Unhinged. Demented.

I just love it how they make fun of psychiatry!

Hello Nurse! 

Hello Nurse!

Hello Nurse!

Because Yakko and Wakko always greets her with this saying she doesn’t really have a name.

Slappy Squirrel

Stop with the singing already!

Stop with the singing already!

I like her best because she is not afraid to make fun of old Hollywood. She is a cynical, retired squirrel and is the aunt of Skippy Squirrel (voiced by Nathan Ruegger – eldest son of Tom Ruegger). Slappy is voiced by Sherri Stone.

Mindy: who always says “Silly puppy” to Runt or “Okay, lady” to her mother.

Rita and Runt: I like the spoof Les Miseranimals – Les Miserables.

Pinky and the Brain:

Pinky and the brain

Pinky and the brain

Ruegger modeled Pinky after Warner Bros Animation director and artist Eddie Fitzgerald, who had the same sunny disposition and often said two of Pinky’s catch phrases: “Narf” and “Egad!”

narf!

I named one of my dogs after Pinky. She also has a pea brain.

Insides of Pinky and Brain

Insides of Pinky and Brain

Brain is based on another Warner Bros Animation artist and writer Tom Milton. Even though the resemblance is uncanny look of Brain is not modeled after Orson Welles, but the Wellesian voice is no coincidence. This is the work of Maurice LaMarche.

They got their own spinoff show that ran for 65 episodes from 1995-1998.

Goodfeathers: 

I especially like the episode were they make fun of “West Side Story –  West Side Pigeons.” “I feel pretty – I feel feathery”

goodfeathers

that smile can killI

I swear that smile could kill!

That’s enough for today! Next post will be about Anivilania and anvils.

Reference: mentalfloss.com by Rob Lammie

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on August 8, 2013, in Notes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Totally Insaney Nonsense Cartoons.

Comments are closed.

