The reason why I am dada for nonsense – day 18 blog challenge

O frabjous day! A reason to talk about the meaning of my blog!

Actually I’ve said it so well in my very first and second posts. So I’ll just quickly refer back to those if you haven’t read them yet:

The reason behind the name:

The reason for the name “dada4nonsense” is that during my third year in my creative writing class I thought of my poems as nonsense poems.  My lecturer said it leaned more towards dadaist poems.

According to the Oxford dictionary “Dada is an international movement in poetry and painting, initiated 1916 in Zürich, repudiating (refusing to obey) tradition, culture and reason.”

There is also a play on the word dada which replaced the word gaga, meaning to be crazy about something.

The reason for starting this blog is to get a sense of motivation and to work on my writing skills.  

So there you have it. If you want to know more about nonsense and Dadaism check out my very first post titled “Nonsense” and my favourite Nonsense quotes from the Dadaists.

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on June 16, 2013, in 31 Day Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The reason why I am dada for nonsense – day 18 blog challenge.

Comments are closed.

