The adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain

I’ve recently started reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain.

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the notice at the beginning of the novel. It reads:

“Persons attempting to find a motive in this narrative will be prosecuted; persons attempting to find a moral in it will be banished; persons attempting to find a plot in it will be shot.”

That is soo AWESOME!

Other quotes from the book:

“After supper she got out her book and learned me about Moses and the Bulrushers; and I was in a sweat to find out all about him; but by-and-by she let it out that Moses had been dead a considerable long time; so then I didn’t care no more about him; because I don’t take no stock in dead people.” (p.50)

Huckleberry Finn and The Woman Douglas (the woman who took him in).

So true!

“Then for an hour it was deadly dull, and I was fidgety… Then she told me all about the bad place, and I said I wished I was there. She got mad, then, but I didn’t mean no harm. All I wanted was to go somewheres; all I wanted was a change, I warn’t particular. She said it was wicked to say what I said; said she wouldn’t say it for the whole world; she was going to live so as to go to the good place. Well, I couldn’t see no advantage in going where she was going, so I made up my mind I wouldn’t try for it… Now she had got a start, and she went on and told me all about the good place. She said all a body would have to do there was to go around all day long with a harp and sing, forever and ever. So I didn’t think much of it.” (pp.50-51)

If that’s all there is to heaven, then I don’t want to think much of it either. Sounds bloody dull and boring.

I think I’m going to like this book…

Source: Twain, M. 1966. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. London: Penguin Classics.

About dada4nonsense

I am a 23 year old (at heart) who loves anything nonsensical

Posted on May 18, 2013, in Notes, Quotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain.

Comments are closed.

